I like surprises…

Posted on Updated on

We want the baby’s sex to be a surprise. Well, I want the baby’s sex to be a surprise. My husband is just kind enough this go around to let me have this little surprise. People look at us like we are crazy sometimes, or even disappointed. I understand they just want to be a part of the pregnancy and by knowing the sex they feel like they can be more personal with their questions. A lot of people say they couldn’t stand not knowing. For me, it makes me feel like I’m peeking at my Christmas presents early. I’m excited that I don’t know. I like having to pick out names for both a boy and a girl.

People automatically assume that because we had a boy with Liam, that we are hoping for a girl this time. I really don’t care which we are having. Granted, if we have a girl tomorrow, then we have a name selected, (and no, we aren’t telling the names until the baby is born,) but the boy names are always harder for me to decide on. When people find out we aren’t going to know the sex, they begin asking questions. How will you know what color to paint the nursery? What are you going to do about clothes if it is a girl? Well to answer those two, we aren’t painting a nursery.

 I worried so much last time about getting a nursery done and Liam has yet to use it. It is now my sewing room. The baby will stay in our room, no need for a new nursery far away from our sleeping quarters. And for the clothes…Do you really think that a baby is going to care what color its clothes are? I mean come on, people worry about exactly how a nursery is going to look and what toys the baby will have hanging above it. The baby doesn’t care. The baby wants is to be able to nurse, be cuddled and held, sleep, pee and poop. The baby could care less if it has satin sheets in periwinkle or if its room is decorated in trains or flowers. Why do people place such importance on the things that in the scheme of life do not really matter? What matters is the bond that you make with the baby.

One thought on “I like surprises…

    Inexplicable Ways said:
    December 19, 2009 at 10:38 am

    It is such a new phenomenon–this knowing the sex of the baby. Hoorah for surprises!

    My husband decided to find out but I refused. The u/s tech wrote the gender on a post-it for him. I think the joke was on him because it was excruciating to keep such a monumental secret for 20 weeks!

    Cedar’s nursery is a hall closet!

Leave a Reply

