Society is changing…Ban the Electronic Devices

Posted on

I love how you walk down the street, or into a building now and people are walking, hunched over looking at their iPhone/Blackberry/or other electronic device.  People think that they are being connected by constantly texting each other but in fact they are ignoring the real human beings around them. 

I got onto the elevator today and two women had their eyes glued to their iPhones.  I thought to myself, “Hello, I’m a real person, be polite, look at me!”   In meetings, people think that they are being polite by having their cell phones on vibrate.  However, it is still distracting and quite rude when their phones start buzzing on their hips or on the table.  Then they take their eyes from you, glance at their phone and you can see whether they are trying to decide who is more important.  Personally, if I’m sitting right next to you, I’m more important!  You requested to meet with me, you are at work, quit focusing on that little electronic device that we will probably find out in ten years will all give us cancer because we have them glued to our hands and heads. 

Another example happened today.  During a meeting with some people that were very sensitive to their time and the costs associated with a project, a fellow co-worker kept looking at their cell phone.  I have no idea what they were doing, I didn’t really care since I was there to make sure that the person we were meeting with remained happy.  I went over to the offending individual and kindly asked them to put away their phone.  It was rude and didn’t look good on our company to have them distracted.  You could tell that this person thought that it wasn’t a big deal. 

I also love when upper management constantly are checking their phones. Or even the peons like me, we are not that important.  I mean, come on, what did we do before cell phones?  Did people not leave messages?  Do we have to be constantly available to one another?  I enjoy my cell phone, but I don’t carry it with me at all times.  It stays at my desk or in my purse most of the time.  If it is an emergency, they can reach me… eventually.  Sometimes, I think it would be great if they would put a ban on electronic devices at work during working hours.  They make you less productive and prevent you from making real face to face connections.  Put your phone down, Facebook can be checked when you get home, you can check the weather by walking outside, and CNN will still be there in an hour.

Leave a Reply

