Lessons in Quilting and Crafts from my Mom

Posted on

I realized this morning that my mom has done a great deal to shape my craftiness.  As I was finishing the baby quilt, I thought about the fact that through the years I watched my mom do various craft projects, from cross stitch, to quilting to curtain making, to crocheting and much more.  Sometimes she sat me down to teach me certain craft lessons, but for the most part, I just observed her doing the different projects, watching her creativity come to light.

I remember doing some basic cross stitching projects where I learned from her to thread a needle and to make a knot.  I learned how to sew on a button from her.  In fourth grade she taught my girl scout troop how to make a small wall hanging quilt.  I still have it too.  Crocheting was always fun.  We would get frustrated over that one.  Then she would always let me use her sewing machine when I was younger.  I remember in 7-8th grades, cutting up my old jeans and making bags and hair ties out of the fabric.  I don’t know how many needles I broke with those projects, but she never seemed to mind.  I’m so thankful, that she gave me these skills.  A lot of you like looking at my craft projects and some of you have even benefited from my mom’s teachings by different gifts I’ve given.  I just want to thank my mom for all that she taught me and continues to teach me.  On this most recent baby quilt, she has let me borrow her very nice Bernina sewing machine and she spent a morning helping me to pin and mark the baby quilt.

In turn, I should also thank my mom’s mom, Grammy.  She has always sewed and she taught my mom a lot of basics.  My mom furthered that knowledge she gained from Grammy by taking quilting classes and I’m so glad that I’ve benefited from both of these women.

So, to see the finished baby quilt for the new baby….

The finished baby quilt--Front
Back of the quilt-flannel with birds
The quilting seen from the back
Front corner--to see the details of the quilting
The border
3 thoughts on “Lessons in Quilting and Crafts from my Mom

    Pam said:
    March 29, 2010 at 8:15 am

    My mom is crafty too and I get it from her, so I agree, thanks mom!

    Inexplicable Ways said:
    April 9, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    I swear you are the craftiest and do-everythingiest working mama I know! You even exercise. Sigh.

      lahancock responded:
      April 10, 2010 at 5:03 am

      No exercising lately, although I dream about getting to go running again. Won’t be for awhile though.

Leave a Reply

