Taking the no ‘poo challenge

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been wanting to try this for a while, but I didn’t want to go to work with hair that was transitioning to no shampoo.  So, I told myself that after the baby came, I would try doing the no shampoo thing.  Now, for all of you that think I plan to not shower or bathe, that is NOT what I mean.

What I’m wanting to do is stop using shampoo and use alternative cleansers to clean my hair and restore the natural oils.  As a a kid, I always wondered how people’s hair back before they washed their hair on a daily basis didn’t look like one big greaseball.  As I’ve done some reading, I understand that hair doesn’t need to be washed with our super strength shampoos that we used on a daily basis.  Most of them contain alcohol in them and that strips all of the natural oils from the hair, actually drying it out.  Then you have to spend money on expensive conditioners to rehydrate your hair.  So instead, I’m going to try and make the switch. I may go nuts with this, I want my hair to look nice and the transition could be really bad.

I plan to wash with a baking soda paste and do a rinse with an apple cider vinegar with some type of something to make it smell a little bit better.  I’ve rinsed my hair with vinegar before and I know that I will have to use very little of it.  It really conditions my hair.  For those of you that have already made the change, do you have some advice on mixtures for the hair.

2 thoughts on “Taking the no ‘poo challenge

    Kristen M. said:
    April 23, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    I’m trying to find a good sulfate-free shampoo…don’t know if I’d mix my own 😉 haha, good luck with it though

    Lisa said:
    April 23, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    FANTASTIC!!! I eliminated shampoo completely the day before Christmas 2009 per the instructions in the book Curly Girl. All I have used on my hair since that time is conditioner and occasionally a brown sugar scrub listed in the book. My husband and I have both been amazed at how NOT greasy my hair is.
    I didn’t even have to worry about a “transition phase” but I don’t know if that has to do with my hair being so curly or what.

Leave a Reply

