I’m not brave!!!!!!

Posted on

I’m so tired of hearing people tell me that I’m brave.  I’m not brave, I’m just normal, as normal as I can be. 

I’m not brave because I home birth.  I’m really just scared of all the crap that can go wrong in the hospital and I don’t want the drugs and possibly have negative effects from them.  I trust my body, my babies and God.

I’m not brave because I use cloth diapers.  They are cloth diapers, that is it.  It is not some miraculous invention that takes a rocket scientist to use.  And yes, I may get poop on my hands sometimes because of it, but don’t you get that with disposable diapers sometimes. 

I’m not brave because I babywear.  It is easier people.  I don’t want to carry around a bucket car seat that will end up bruising the crap out of my legs.  And no it is not difficult, you learn how to do it.

I’m not brave because I have kids.  Maybe a little crazy sometimes, but kids bring laughter and joy to my life that wouldn’t be there otherwise. 

I’m not brave!!!  I get so tired of people saying that to me. 

What I am though is awesome.  🙂  Okay, that is not humble of me at all, but I want to focus on some positives.  I have a husband whom I love very much and stands up for me when I need it.  I have a wonderfully curious little boy who is in his mischievous stage but is so great despite that.  I have a baby boy who loves to coo and smile at me.  I have a dog that has put up with me having two kids that take most of my attention.  I have awesome friends.  They are there for me when I need them and teach me so much.  I have family that for the most part is pretty great.  I’m not in the best state of mind to talk about them right now, so I won’t. 

For all of you that hear the statement, you are so brave….what do you think, how do you feel?

10 thoughts on “I’m not brave!!!!!!

    Lisa said:
    June 28, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Amen, amen, amen!!! “Brave” is almost used like a little jab sometimes. But I do think you’re awesome, because I think I’m pretty darn awesome for doing all those things, too:-)

      lahancock responded:
      June 28, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      I agree with it feeling like a jab. It never comes off as a compliment.

    Teresa Frogge said:
    June 28, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I agree, you are Awesome!! Love you. Mom

    Holly said:
    June 28, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    I always think “brave” is a nice way to think that someone believes I am doing something irresponsible and dangerous. I usually don’t take it as a compliment.

    thevfamily said:
    June 29, 2010 at 9:18 am

    I see nothing wrong with being called brave. I would think it a compliment. Check out Nichole Nordeman’s song titled “Brave.” She wrote it right after her first son was born, and I think it applies to motherhood in general; she certainly thinks it super to be brave.

      lahancock responded:
      June 30, 2010 at 10:38 am

      Summer— If you ever choose to have your babies at home, you will see how people talk to you in reference to the brave comment. It is the tone in which they say it and their body language. I will have to check out the song.

    Inexplicable Ways said:
    June 30, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Yep–when referring to anything that has to do with parenting, it is best to pick another adjective. I like awesome. 🙂

    Now feeding a baby beets and blueberries for dinner whilst cloth diapering…that might be in the brave category. Ask me how I know.

      lahancock responded:
      June 30, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      You are too funny Julie. However gross it might be, I think I would like to see a picture of that diaper. Maybe you can just catch the poo in the potty and not worry about it.

        Inexplicable Ways said:
        June 30, 2010 at 5:08 pm

        Don’t rub in your mad EC skilz. I totally suck at it.

        lahancock responded:
        June 30, 2010 at 5:50 pm

        My goal is to catch one pee a day. If I catch two it is a fantastic day. The crazy thing is my husband, who laughed at me when I first started to do it, catches more pees and poops than I do.

Leave a Reply

