Marathon in October 2011? Any takers?

Posted on

I never thought I would be contemplating doing a marathon.  That is running or walking 26.2 miles for those of you that don’t know the lingo.  In 2006, I trained for the Outer Banks Half-marathon.  I even convinced my husband, my mom and a couple of friends to join in too.  Only me and two others actually put in the training time for the half-marathon.  The others, I’m simply amazed at how well they did when they didn’t train at all.  That being said, I really enjoyed doing the race with friends.  We had no plans to actually stay with each other during the race, we just knew that the others were out on the road with us.  Before the race we had a great time playing on the sand dunes and touring around Kitty Hawk, NC. 

I thought that 13.2 miles was as far as I would ever want to run.  I had a great time during the half-marathon, but even thinking about a longer distance just made my knees, legs and back hurt.  However, I’ve started to re-think my fitness choices and would like to add marathon to my list of accomplishments.  Right now, I have no idea whether I want to set a time goal for myself for completing the marathon.  I think I just want to complete it.  I’ve found a race that I would like to do, but I need plenty of time to build my base running and get my strength up so that I stay injury free.  I’ve never been to Maine, but the pictures of the Mount Desert Marathon look beautiful. 

 

It is on an island in Maine.  The race is held in October when the leaves are turning.  It is held during a time of year when it is not sweltering outside as it is in the south.  They have no time limit to finish!!!  They have a one hour early start for those that will either be walking or know that they will take longer than 6 hours and 30 minutes.  The race is rated one of the most scenic marathons in the U.S.  They accept 1000 participants so it isn’t too large of a race, but not so small that you will feel like you are the last person. 

They also offer a 2 or 3 man relay option if you don’t want to complete a whole marathon. 

The terrain looks like this….

So moderately hilly, with a really big down hill at the end of the race. 

The race route goes all over the island so I would expect there to be a lot of pretty vistas.

So… is a marathon on your bucket list of things to do before you die?  Or maybe before you turn 30? 40? etc.  Think about it, I would love to have training partners across the U.S. training for the same race.  We would have a blast at the pre-race EXPO and enjoy cheering each other on across the finish line.  If you’re interested, let me know.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to be there in October 2011. 

For more information on how long it takes to train for a marathon, check out this and this.

Leave a Reply

