Ring Sling-To Good Home

Posted on Updated on

I’ve sewed two new ring sling for my family photo session coming up next weekend.  I found this great linen look-alike fabric from Hancock Fabrics in a wonderful purple color.  I made two slings with the fabric in two different shoulder styles.  I always use the Sleeping Baby Productions (SBP) shoulder style and I decided that I would make one with that style and the other a gathered shoulder style.  Right now, I want to keep both, so that means that I have a few too many slings.  I’ve decided that I will give another sling away in my stash, made by me.  The shoulder style is SBP, it is a light green wool blend ring sling with a pink print zippered pocket on the tail.  I make my slings with a long tail.  The stitching on the shoulder isn’t perfect (aesthetically speaking) but it is strong and will support your baby/toddler.  On this sling I used large rings which makes it very easy to adjust.  The wool blend does not make it too hot, surprisingly, and it is very thin and drapes nicely.  I don’t use this sling enough so I want someone else to enjoy it.  My friend Megan has the sister to this sling.

So, if you would like to get a free ring sling, post a comment on my blog.  There are some rules and obligations to this offer.  Rule number 1: If I’ve never met you or never had a conversation with you (if we’ve conversed online, you can be in the drawing), you won’t be included in this giveaway.

Obligation number 1: If you get the sling, you must take a picture of you using the sling and send it to me.  I make carriers infrequently now because I don’t want to put the effort into something that is going to sit in the bottom of a closet.  If you don’t have a baby/toddler yet to use it with, then put a stuffed animal in.

Rule number 2:  If you’ve never used a sling, you will go to Sleeping Baby Productions and read Jan Andrea’s instructions on how to safely use the sling.  I will not to be held responsible if you do not learn how to safely use this sling.

A ring sling is easy to use, but there is a bit of a learning curve.  This carrier is safe to use with newborns up to toddlers, although I find the heavier the baby, the less comfortable you can be for a long period.  If you have a baby to try it out on, get them in the sling and start moving.  A lot of babies cry when they are first put into any type of carrier because  it is something different.  Once you start moving, most babies settle quickly and even fall asleep.

I will keep this drawing open until August 22nd, 2010.  I will have Liam draw the winner’s name and I will send the sling to you shortly after that.  And for my friends that live in AK and elsewhere, yes you can be included.  I will send it wherever.

10 thoughts on “Ring Sling-To Good Home

    Kristen said:
    August 15, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    I will enter! 🙂 You make great slings and carriers!

    Mary C. said:
    August 15, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    What a beautiful sling! If you ever want to make some for the business I mentioned, lmk 🙂

    Cristina said:
    August 15, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    yeah!! still haven’t ordered one for myself yet =)

    Ashlee said:
    August 15, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    I would love to be entered. 🙂

    Adria said:
    August 15, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I would love one. Someone gave me one as a shower gift but it is big, thick, and bulky and I was never able to use it.

    Lisa Roerdink said:
    August 18, 2010 at 9:00 pm

    I used a ring sling with a short tail with Jude (and later a Mei Tai) but always coveted the beautiful long tail ones! I actually still will put him in the ring sling if I have a quick task that he’s not letting me get done! (because the Mei Tai takes longer to pull together!)

    Lisa Roerdink said:
    August 18, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    This is just a test to see if my first comment just didn’t go through or if you have comment moderation, or if I just did something wrong;-)

    Jessica said:
    August 20, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Hi, I’m a friend of your friend, Laura’s. I know that I don’t qualify to win your sling since you don’t know me, but I had to comment and say how beautiful that sling is. I would love to win it, so i think whoever wins it is very lucky. And your baby is adorable, too.

      lahancock responded:
      August 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm

      If you are a friend of Laura, you can be in it too. 🙂

    Jada said:
    August 22, 2010 at 12:14 am

    I love your sling. I have used a few different kinds with both Josiah and Johannah, but I have never tried a ring sling. I would love to ‘win’ one like this to try. Josiah loved to be carried around and Johannah still loves to be carried around on Mommy!

Leave a Reply

