Smoothies

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been on a homemade smoothie kick lately.  I’ve tried to stay away from dairy as much as possible because of breastfeeding and I would like to cut my dairy intake in general for health benefit reasons.  I’ve found a great dairy substitute that I like, almond milk.  I don’t like soy because of the estrogen issues and the pesticides.  I’ve tried hazelnut milk and rice milk, both I thought were quite gross.  I haven’t really looked into the details of almond milk, so I’m drinking it for now until I find out something is wrong with it. 

I wanted to share some of my smoothie experiments.  I haven’t had one that I thought was gross yet. 

Berry Banana

1 cup frozen organic mixed berries

1 banana

As much almond milk as it takes to get the consistency that you want.

Strawberry-Banana Smoothie

1 cup Frozen Organic strawberries

1 banana

As much almond milk as it takes to get the consistency that you want.

Cherry-Banana Smoothie—My favorite

1 cup frozen organic sweet cherries

1 banana

As much almond milk as it takes to get the consistency that you want.

Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie

1 cup frozen organic raspberries

3 tablespoons cocoa powder (you could substitute, Carnation Instant Breakfast if you didn’t have cocoa powder, might even try carob, I just haven’t done this)

As much almond milk as it takes to get the consistency that you want.

Peanut Butter-Chocolate-Banana Smoothie

2 tablespoons peanut butter

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 banana

3 ice cubes

As much almond milk as it takes to get the consistency that you want.

You could always substitute regular milk for any of these smoothies.  Here are a few that might be good, but I haven’t made yet. 

Apple Pie Smoothie

Cooked Apples-Frozen

Cinnamon to taste

1 graham cracker

As much almond milk as it takes to get the consistency that you want.

Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie

Do the same as the chocolate raspberry smoothie, just substitute strawberries for raspberries.

One thought on “Smoothies

    Jada said:
    August 22, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Thanks for the recipes. I am trying to cut my dairy down drastically. Since Johannah has the milk protein allergy, I am trying to cook with less dairy and watch for hidden sources.

Leave a Reply

