Vaginal Birth Does Not Equal Natural Birth

Posted on

I’m a purist when it comes to natural birth.  Natural birth to me means, no epidural, no pitocin, no spinal block, no drugs during the birthing process. 

Lately with the high c-section rate in the United States and some other countries, people are starting to call vaginal birth, natural birth.  Yes, it is true, God did design babies to go through the vagina.  However, I really don’t think that God intended women to be tethered to a hep-lock, fetal monitors, internal and external, catheters, blood pressure cuff, induced because their labors have started but aren’t going fast enough or for some because they have gone “post-dates”, waters artificially broken, women lying flat on their back despite wanting to be in another birthing position, etc. 

I’m not saying any specific type of birth is preferential for all women.  Anyone that has read my earlier posts, know that I like to give birth with no drugs, in the water and out of the hospital. That is just my preference. 

 I just don’t want people calling vaginal birth, “natural” birth.  Or maybe, natural birth needs to be re-classified as un-medicated, un-tethered, free from intervention birth.  That is too much of a mouthful for me though, I’ll just stick with natural birth. 

Minutes after Liam was born
One thought on “Vaginal Birth Does Not Equal Natural Birth

    NavelgazingMidwife said:
    September 5, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    FABulous! And right on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

