Milk

Posted on Updated on

I make milk.  I make a lot of milk.  My babies don’t drink nearly as much as I pump when I’m at work.  Therefore, I have a freezer full of milk.  I’m not bragging.  It is just a simple fact that I make a lot of milk.  Sometimes that can really suck when I have been away from the baby or a pump for too long, making things quite uncomfortable in the chest region.  I’m talking about my milk, one because, I’m thankful that I do have a very healthy supply and two because I want to share with another mom.

With Liam, I didn’t begin to pump until he was almost 6 months old because my work didn’t require me to be away from him until that point.  With Nicholas, my work required me to be in the office at 14 weeks part-time.  So I had to start pumping.  Because of the early start, I have a lot of milk in the freezer.  When I pump, I get anywhere from 6-12 ounces during one pumping session.  If I’m at work for a full day, then I have 12-24 ounces that I have to freeze.  Nicholas drinks very little while I’m gone.  Maybe 4 ounces in the morning and then another 3-4 in the afternoon.  You do the math, that means I have a lot of milk in the freezer.

I donated over a hundred ounces with Liam to Milkin’ Mamas.  They were a great organization to donate the milk to, but this time I would rather donate to someone local if I can.  So, if you know of any moms that need some extra milk, please let me know.  I have one friend that I’ve given some milk to, but she really is trying her best to maintain her own supply without any other supplementation.

2 thoughts on “Milk

    thevfamily said:
    October 18, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    I have always had a great supply of milk as well, being able to save and freeze so much, when I actually decided to pump. I love that you are willing to donate your milk. I tried to do that when I went to Hawaii, for I really did not want the hassle of trying to bring it all back home yet I could never imagine throwing so many ounces away. The milk banks I contacted were so eager to take the milk off my hands but it turns out there were several tests that I had to comply to in order to donate, which took time that I did not have, nor did my milk for that matter. I ended up bringing it all back with me but really wanted to just help some other mommy out, even far away in HI. I hope someone local in TN gets to reap the benefits of your abundance!

    Holly said:
    October 18, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    Two thumbs up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

