The Great No-Sugar Experiment

Posted on

Some of my Facebook friends have cut sugar out of their diets.  My interest was sparked because they spoke of feeling better, their moods were more regulated after they went through the sugar withdrawal, their sugar cravings were reduced and they felt less bloated.  I didn’t join them right away because truthfully, I really like candy and I wanted my box of Valentine’s chocolates. 

I know that I am a sugar addict.  I have massive mood swings due to my sugar intake and when my blood sugar gets too low I get grouchy and typically take things  out on my children or husband.  I do not want to feel like I need a sugar fix.  Lent is coming up and I typically give up something, some years it is chocolate, some years it is candy.  I don’t really drink soda, only on occasion, so that hasn’t been something to give up.  I do drink coffee, but don’t feel like I need my coffee to function.  I just like the way it tastes.  So, for Lent this year, I plan to give up processed sugars, cakes, candies, etc. 

Like  my Facebook friends, I think I will keep real fruit in my diet but I enjoy eating pastries in the morning and will be giving these up too.  I expect that I will need to rethink my breakfast choices and plan ahead better.  I will be making some hard-boiled eggs at the beginning of the week to eat, or for variety make a large frittata to consume during the week for breakfast.  I already keep almonds at my desk and  try to bring protein snacks with me to work, but every afternoon, I crave something sweet.  Some days, I get past it, other days I don’t. 

I’m looking forward to seeing how my body reacts to the no-sugar experiment.  I like thinking of it as an experiment because it makes it fun.  Plus, doing it during Lent, and hopefully beyond, I have a good reason to avoid sugar, other than just health benefits. 

Anybody want to join me in the no-sugar experiment?

7 thoughts on “The Great No-Sugar Experiment

    Holly said:
    February 20, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Awesome! I hope it is as good for you as it has been for us!!! Theo isn’t participating, though. I can’t wait to get your reports! Oh and I love thinking of it as an experiment!

      lahancock responded:
      February 20, 2011 at 6:42 pm

      I’m not asking my family to participate yet. One, Damon is a grown man and he has to decide for himself. The boys, they will have it cut back but I need to go through the sugar withdrawl first. However, I went and bought some more Valentine’s day candy at Target. Oops. It was 90% off. I got the smallest ones, if that makes it any better.

    Nicole said:
    February 20, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    Awesome! You might want to keep some dates on hand at your desk, or other dried fruit (but make sure it doesn’t have sugar added–a lot does) for your afternoon sweet craving. Good luck!

    thevfamily said:
    February 21, 2011 at 4:17 pm

    I have done this before just cause and as a Lenten commitment, to varying degrees, and, for me, I can’t really say there is this jump in energy or betterment of mood from its initial removal. I feel basically the same. When it is introduced back in, however, that is when I can tell I just don’t feel as great. Does that make sense? Sounds odd as I type it but that is how it works for me.

      lahancock responded:
      February 21, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      That makes sense. You may not be as affected by sugar. I’ve been reading some books and some people do not chemically react as drastically to sugar. I enjoy making a commitement during Lent and I figure this is good for me to do. I just want to reduce my sugar cravings and start making some alternative choices.

        thevfamily said:
        February 22, 2011 at 3:54 pm

        Huh. Yeah, I guess that might be true. My kids really don’t either now that I think about it. I have heard people as we leave a birthday party, “My kids are never going to sleep,” or some generic saying of the like and my kids never get hyped up like that after eating sugar. Can you tell when your kids consume too much sugar? Do they react similar to you?

        lahancock responded:
        February 23, 2011 at 8:31 am

        I don’t think Liam gets hyper after eating sugar, he just gets cranky. Maybe it’s just because he is three, but I’m tired of the whining for candy. I don’t think I get hyped from sugar either, but I guess we will see. I will go through the Lenten season with no sugar (or at least try my best to avoid it) and then after that, I will eat some sugar to see what my body does…after all this is an experiment.

Leave a Reply

