My child doesn’t sleep through the night and that makes me happy.

Posted on

My child doesn’t sleep through the night and that makes me happy.

I know, this title is weird. Why does a baby that wakes during the night at age one make me happy? Milk supply, weight loss for me during the night, chubbier baby, and my period is still absent. Yes, that’s right. No period for me when the baby nurses through the night. That makes me happy.

It was 17 months postpartum with Liam before my period returned. So far, with Nick, no period either. Other advantages of the nighttime waking and nursing is that I don’t have to pump as much during the work day because the baby is getting plenty of milk during the night and a lot of the time drinks less during the day.

How do I not be a zombie during the day? Co-sleeping with a crib side car next to the bed. Nick crawls over to me to nurse and I tend to fall back asleep. Sometimes he crawls back to his crib, other times I move him back.

2 thoughts on “My child doesn’t sleep through the night and that makes me happy.

    Leah Spencer said:
    April 28, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    Highly jealous… I got my period back at 3.5 months despite exclusively nursing until 6.5 months. My mom didn’t get hers back until she was done nursing. And typically would be pregnant again before seeing red.

    I’m still nursing Caleb through the night, I’m all about “on demand”. Due to both the baby and husband having sleep issues, we moved Caleb to his own room at 9 months. He sleeps on a twin bed (on the floor) that allows for me to sleep with him as needed and nurse him there. The whole arrangement really helps martial relations. 😉

      lahancock responded:
      April 28, 2011 at 1:32 pm

      I’m all about people doing what works for them on sleeping arrangements. If you don’t have parents that are getting sleep, then you don’t have kids that are getting the attention that they need. I’m very thankful that my body reacts the way it does to nursing.

Leave a Reply

