New Invention

Posted on Updated on

I appreciate all of the kind and encouraging comments on my last blog post.  I’m still searching my soul, praying and having meaningful conversations with my husband on what we should do.  I was able to create this weekend which did feed my soul, although I still need to work on family balance. 

I’m going to the Seattle area in a week and a half to visit with friends from Wiley Post Ave.  Hi Helena and Chad!  Helena was awesome enough to pass along her old Nikon d60 digital SLR camera, but I needed a case for it.  I’ve put off getting one because I wasn’t taking the camera anywhere and it could sit on my dresser.  The impending date of take off is coming quickly so I begged my husband for some sewing time so that I could make my own camera case.  Most camera bags come in generic black or blah colors.  I wanted an accesory.  I wanted it to be a bit funky and bold.  I think I suceeded. 

I looked around for a pattern, but never found one I quite liked.  I saw this bag and actually purchased everything to make it. It is a bag made to be used by babywearers.  I liked it, but I wasn’t too sure about the straps.  I was worried that they would get on my nerves after a while.  On Friday of last week, I found this bag on a website. I loved the shoulder because I love my ring sling and it looked very similar in comfort level.  I could have just bought either bag but the prices were around $100 for the second bag style, which I liked more.  I did not want to spend that much, plus I figured I could make something similar with my pre-purchased fabric, so I did. 

I’ve made a handful of SBP shouldered ring slings and figured I could make the bag adjustable with a normal ring sling adjustment.  I love the outcome of the bag.  It is comfortable and stylish.  If I make another one, I’ve learned a few things that will make it go easier the next go around.

Look at Nick’s eyes.

Water Bottle Pocket

I’m pretty proud of this creation.  I can’t wait to go on my trip to try it out.

One thought on “New Invention

    Sara Friesen said:
    July 25, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    You amaze me with your creativity, abilitly and drive to create.

Leave a Reply

