Guess who’s not invited?

Posted on Updated on

I picked up Blush magazine  today and was excited to see that Parkridge East Hospital is having a “Labor Day” Soiree.  I thought, “Wow, this would be a great opportunity to get the word out to the public about Chattanooga Hypnobabies and ICAN (International Cesarean Awareness Network).”  I sent an e-mail to my childbirth related friends that included a Bradley instructor, an Independent Childbirth instructor, two doulas, and the local leaders of ICAN letting them know that I had called the phone number on the advertisement.  The receptionist took down my information and would get back to me. 

My friend Amy, decided to call again and inquire. She was told that the spots for vendors fill up 3-4 months in advance. Amy asked to be put on the wait list for next year and was informed that the vendors from this session get first shot at spots.  That is great for those vendors, but I’m more concerned for the mom’s going to this event.  You would think that it would be directed at how to actually get your baby out, but from the advertisements from previous years, it appears that the primary reasons for going are about photographing your newborn, touring the facility and how to decorate the nursery on a budget.  The first two have validity in my mind, but decorating the nursery should honestly be a bit further down on the list of priorities.  I’m curious who they have as their pregnancy & newborn “experts.”  Sigh. 

I guess my birthy friends and I need to find a way to host a natural childbirth soiree that involves the La Leche League, ICAN, local doulas, massage therapists, chiropractors, acupuncturist, yoga and pilates instructors, childbirth instructors, supportive OB’s, midwives and nurses, lactation consultants, and then….product people like newborn photographers, and then after that….commercialized crap that we don’t really need to have a baby, i.e. newborn registries. 

3 thoughts on “Guess who’s not invited?

    Misty Olson said:
    August 3, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I think you have a VERY valid point. You know I didn’t even know a doula existed or what it was until a friend of mine had one her first few weeks after birth. I soo wish someone would have informed me on things like that! Especially with my first child.

    Adele said:
    August 3, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    I think you should set up your own “Labor Day” Soiree in the parking lot, but I am sure someone would eventually come ask you to leave the property. Maybe on the side of the road outside the hospital…

    Heather said:
    August 4, 2011 at 7:45 am

    I think it sounds like a great idea to have your own “Labor Day” bash. With all of the groups that you mentioned that weren’t invited to this one, you could have a huge thing going. You just need a great name for it.

Leave a Reply

