The New Sewing Table

Posted on Updated on

My old sewing table was an L-shaped computer desk that I bought from my neighbor at a garage sale.  It was great at first, but with repeated sewing, it started to vibrate and I would have to hold the table steady.  The table was also very large and took up a large part of our guest room.

My friend Sophia showed me a website called Ana White.  It is a build your own furniture website.  The lady is even from Alaska.  Score!!!  She has great design plans on their of very popular furniture.  I showed it to my husband and asked if his first wood working project could be to build me a table.  When he got the opportunity to work on the table, he was able to put it together very quickly.;)

I went to IKEA and found some great shelves and organization tools to help build my little sewing corner.

Then I went to Seattle to visit my friends, Chad, Emily and Helena.  I was hoping that while I was gone, that Damon would finish painting my table and then I could get my sewing area all set up.  However, Emily had done so many great things in her home with decor that I called Damon and told him I would take care of painting the table. Emily is a Mod Podge queen.  I had heard of the stuff, but had never used it.  She used fabric squares to decorate the top of a coffee table.  It was all glued and sealed down with Mod Podge making a very easily cleaned surface. She also used mod podge on a fabric footstool (that project is coming in the near future.) So, with Emily’s inspiration decor ideas, I had a plan.

I would take all of my favorite fabric and make a crazy  quilt of sorts on my table top, after painting parts of it a pretty blue.  I laid the fabric out in a pleasing way and started doing layer after layer of mod podge with sanding after each layer.  To finish it off, I sprayed it with Krylon acrylic spray.  I did this outside because it is quite pungent.

I’m in love with the finished product.  Thanks to Sophia for showing me the highly addictive site.  Thanks to my husband for making me a table and thanks to Emily for being wickedly awesome with decorating your house.

So here are the pictures.

You may notice that the book case is on the opposite side of where it was in the previous pictures.  Once I got it into the room, I realized that I really wanted the bookcase to be on the other side so my husband made it work.  I love him.

I also wanted to show the finished picture of the chair I had upholstered.  It is lovely.

3 thoughts on “The New Sewing Table

    Sophia Lesher said:
    August 18, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Love the chair! The colors! The pattern! Woooo! I have 2 similar chairs… you are giving me ideas!

    Megan said:
    August 19, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Love it! I’m so showing this table to Raun to make for me! Love it, love it, love it.

    Summer said:
    August 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    Awesome job on the table! And I basically LOVE your chair. Great choice!

Leave a Reply

