“But God said no.”

Posted on

We are pretty open with our kids that we would like to have another child (or more, from my viewpoint).  For the past year, Liam has said he wanted a baby sister.  I think that stems from him getting a new girl cousin.  Liam wants his own girl though. 

Lately, Liam has been saying that he wants a baby brother AND a baby sister.  I suggest to him that he pray to God for more siblings.  I remind him that if God decides to send us another baby, it might be a boy, it might be a girl, or there is a slim chance that we might have twins. 

Last night within earshot of Liam, I joked with my husband that the boys needed to go to sleep so that we could practice making a new brother or sister.  Liam said again that he wanted both.  I said, “Well, then you need to pray and ask God.”

Liam looks teary eyed and said, “I asked for a baby brother AND a baby sister, both, but God said no.” He then crumbled face down into a ball on the bed and sounded like he was crying.  I gave him a hug and said that we don’t know what God has planned for us, but it was okay.  I love my little boys and if God graces us with another child, I will be thankful.  Prayers going up for all my friends that have lost babies recently or have been trying to get pregnant.

Leave a Reply

