A family that races together

Posted on

On September 10th, Damon, my Dad and I, completed a sprint distance triathlon called the Nashvegas Triathlon.  It was in Ashland City, TN.  It was a fun race and I’m glad I signed up for it.  The swim was not too bad, although one probably shouldn’t race in a wetsuit without training in it first.  The swim upstream was a bit tough and it took me a couple of miles on the bike to get blood flowing properly to my legs.

The bike was pretty easy on the highway.  The wind seemed to be always against us, but it wasn’t too bad.  The run was quite flat, although the race brochures showed us running on a wooded path….we ran on the road, with almost no shade.  Race support was pretty good, although the spectators did not do much cheering.

I’m not sure I would do this race again, only because I like to try new places to swim, bike and run.  This swim was 400 meters, the bike was 14 miles and the run was marketed as 3.1 miles, but I mapped it on the website, Map My Run and it measured at 3.48 miles.  That made me happy, because when I saw my run split, it was slower than normal.  When I calculated my mile per hour time based on the longer distance, it reflected my normal pace.

This was Damon’s first triathlon and I think he is hooked now.  I’m glad that we have something like this to share.  I prefer triathlon to golf and I’m sure he prefers it to knitting or sewing.  Hee-hee.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A family that races together

    thevfamily said:
    September 23, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    Way to go! Looks like it was a good race.

Leave a Reply

