More tears

Posted on Updated on

This was the message Christina Hooker’s husband, Christian, posted on Facebook today. Please remember his message.

“To all who haven’t heard, Christina Jones Hooker, my beautiful wife and perfect mother of my precious girls, very unexpectedly went to be with Jesus last night, after a hard 24 hour struggle.

These are hard words to say. First, thank you so much for those who prayed so fervently for her life. The preciousness of her life was greatly reflected in your outpouring of concern and grief.

We don’t know why, but Christina suffered a severe heart attack Tuesday evening. There was no warning. One moment she was a happy, active young mother, and the next she was undergoing CPR for 15 minutes on the ER at Erlanger hospital. The doctors DID revive her, and fought to save her 24 heroic hours.

She lost that battle. She is so very much needed and missed, and though we do not blame her or God, an awesome person leaves an awesome gap in the lives of those they are closest to. Christina’s friends and loved ones, please grieve with me and her children. We are facing something we can only heal with the love of God almighty and you, those who loved her. We are making arrangements at Wilson’s funeral home in LaFayette, GA, and I will post om her account as more information becomes available.

Listen to me. Hold close what you have. Your wives, husbands, and children. Every fantasy I had that what is precious to me is too good to be taken was destroyed last night. There are NO guarantees. Every moment we have here is a gift. Live that while you can.”

6 thoughts on “More tears

    Megan said:
    October 20, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    How incredibly sad. I know there’s a reason, but that’s not always comforting when you’re walking through such horrible pain. How old are et children? How old was she? I’ll continue to pray for her family as they try to figure out how to like minute by minute then hour by hour then day by day without her. I’d say that is my greatest fear of all…

      lahancock responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 7:18 pm

      Christina was just 35. Her daughters range from almost 16 to almost 4.

    Bree said:
    October 20, 2011 at 7:14 pm

    So very sad. What a brave man to post this powerful message. I pray for peace during their grieving and for their five children. I am taking his message to heart and will hold close what I have.

      lahancock responded:
      October 20, 2011 at 7:19 pm

      Bree—His message was beautiful and eloquent. I too will remember this woman forever and the strength that her husband is showing in these moments of loss.

    Summer said:
    October 23, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    Leigh Ann, I promise I will be praying for this family. As I told you while we were on our trip, my dad passed away of a sudden heart attack at the exact same age, leaving my mom with three kids, 12-4 in age, to raise. I am incredibly sad for these people I do not know, but I hope they can feel my love for them.

      lahancock responded:
      October 24, 2011 at 6:18 am

      Summer, I’ve thought about you a lot with Christina’s passing. The memorial service is today. I expect there will be enough tears to flood the church. These young ladies and devoted father and husband will have a long journey a head of them, but at least they have God in their hearts.

Leave a Reply

