Yup, I’m going there

Posted on

Going where you ask?  Into a topic that I did not think I would share with a general audience.

Hemorrhoids.  Yes, hemorrhoids are my topic of the day.  I feel like I’m in an AA meeting, “Hi, my name is Leigh Anne and I suffer from hemorrhoid flare ups.”  They suck.  They hurt.  I told my husband the other day that “I would rather give birth fifty times than have hemorrhoids. At least you know when the discomfort is going to end with birth.”

So why am I writing about this?  Well, I’m embarrassed to talk about it actually.  I mean, who really needs to know the state of my anal region?  The reason I’m writing about it is because I think that a lot of people battle with them and the information out on the internet is hard to find.  I think of myself as pretty google savvy, however most of my initial searches on hemorrhoidal relief and prevention came up with the same things over and over again.  Eat a high fiber diet, drink lots of water, get plenty of exercise and don’t sit on the toilet for long periods of time.  Guess what folks, this information did not help me a bit.  I do all of those things.  So I had to search deeper.

Of course, there were plenty of websites that promised instant relief if only I paid for the information.  No thanks!  A lot of places seemed to say that they were something that was part of getting older and going through pregnancy.

I got my first introduction to hemorrhoids shortly before I was pregnant with Liam.  Then during pregnancy, about two weeks before he was born, I had a flare up so bad that I had to go home from work.  They hurt so much.  I tried warm baths, ice packs made of peas, ointments and witch hazel.  They all helped in the moment, but then when I had to go to stand up the horrible pressure from having a baby sitting so low in my pelvis and feeling like my butt was about to fall out was not fun.  After he was born, I would have flare ups every once in a while but I could never pin point whether it was something I was doing or eating.

With my second pregnancy, the ‘roids came back with a vengeance.  Wouldn’t you know it ended up being about two weeks before Nick arrived?  At least I know now for the next pregnancy that if I feel hemorrhoids coming on, then the baby will be here soon. This time in addition to all of the above things that I tried, I added suppositories. Now talk about uncomfortable and really weird feeling.  My midwife suggested that I just push the external hemorrhoids back in and I told her I just couldn’t do it.  They hurt too much.

After Nick was born, I’ve had minor flare ups and I notice that when my sacrum is out of alignment, then I start having issues.  I go in to get adjusted by my chiropractor and they tend to get better.

So present day.  I’ve been having issues for the past three weeks.  I really think that the issues started up with the use of my Diva cup.  It kept slipping down and I kept pushing it back up.  I really feel like that started the cascade of irritation.  I went to my chiropractor after that marathon relay I did.  I was sick and he adjusted me but I could still tell the hemorrhoids were present. They were so bad this past week that I came home every night and just did a sitz bath, took a bunch of ibuprofen (which I very rarely ever take), and tried to stay off my feet.  I also cut back on my sugar consumption and really thought about stopping coffee, but for whatever reason, I really want coffee now.  At the end of last week, I even made an appointment with an acupuncturist.  I went to him today for the first time.  I’m hoping that the session, mixed with me going to my chiropractor yesterday will solve the problem for now until I can figure out what is triggering them. As a side note, it is hilarious when I told each practitioner that I was seeing the other.  They didn’t seem to have respect for the other’s profession.  Too bad, I like both therapies.

You would be amazed at the different remedies out there on the internet.  And yes….I tried some of them.

Garlic suppositories, cayenne pepper in your drink, Vics vapor rub, apple cider vinegar, something called rutin, coconut oil, castor oil, not wiping with toilet paper, squatting on a toilet instead of sitting, duck egg omelets, menthol, aloe vera and many more.

Anyway, I felt the need to over share today.  I know that some of my readers have probably went through their own battle with hemorrhoids.  If you ever want to have a conversation about butt holes, let me know.  I’m beginning to be an expert.  😉

6 thoughts on “Yup, I’m going there

    Lisa said:
    November 3, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    This is good to know. Not good for you, but good to know. I know NOTHING about them and have yet to have a client with them. But if I ever do, now I know where to go for info!

      lahancock responded:
      November 3, 2011 at 7:22 pm

      I’m so jealous Lisa. Of your butt. Yes, I said it.

    Adele said:
    November 3, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    I could have a butt hole conversation with you after Serenity’s 4-hour push-a-thon to get her big head/arm/elbow out!!

    rebekers said:
    November 3, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    I find that they hurt more when I lift anything heavy or don’t clean well enough after a BM.

    I remember thinking “why do people not get them taken care of when they could just tie them off?” Well, now I know. $400 just to have the doc tell me “yes, you have both internal and external ‘roids” and “surgery will be $800 per procedure after insurance.” Yeah, that’s affordable. :-/ Oh, and you can’t tie off external ones, those take surgery and at least 8 weeks to recover.

    Ugh.

    thevfamily said:
    November 8, 2011 at 12:51 am

    I just want to like your “I’m jealous of your butt” comment. LOL!

    […] not going into details but multiply this post by five and you may get a picture of how I’m feeling now.  I would not inflict this pain on […]

Leave a Reply

