If Engineers Came Up With Baby Names

Posted on Updated on

I was looking at standard structural steel sizes (while at work, I don’t look at that stuff for fun) and one of the words in bold letters on the page was flange.  I started to crack up and joked with my cube buddy, “Wouldn’t it be funny if so and so named their next kid Flange, if it was a girl?”  I don’t know why this name is so hilarious to me, I guess it reminds me of Marge Simpson sister’s.  So I decided to come of with a handful of names that only engineers would think to name their children. My favorite is Flange though.  Hee-hee.

Flange

Ohm

Newton

Edy

Tertiary

Faraday

Dell

Hewlett

Cad

Fossil

Valve

Guy

Ampere

Surge

Pi

Pythagorean

Tensile

Truss

Corona

Epsilon

Wye

Delta

Kelvin

Edison

Laplace

Fourier

Thevenin

Phasor

Bode

One thought on “If Engineers Came Up With Baby Names

    Julie said:
    December 12, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    I had a student who named her son Dell.

    Meanwhile, I like Wye.

Leave a Reply

