Punch Me in the Face

Posted on Updated on

Today has been going extremely well.  (SARCASM).  I figure that it can only get better as it goes on.  So to complain about the events of this morning….

I had some bad dreams through the night.  One was about me and I really don’t want to re-live it, but it still makes me tear up. I should know better than to read certain things right before going to bed.  The second bad dream was about a  friend from high school that had died and I heard about it via Facebook.  Of course when I woke up this morning, I went on Facebook to make sure that I somehow wasn’t right, thankfully, it was just a dream.

I have organized a meat pick up of two cows for today, so while my boys were still asleep this morning, I went out at 6:30am, moved my truck closer to the garage and began loading up the coolers.  As I was lifting the first cooler (my chiropractor’s) over the side of the truck bed, the lid opened up, smacking me on the bridge of my nose.  The cooler went flying into the bed of the truck and I immediately teared up and ran inside to start icing it.  A small amount of blood was on the ice pack and it is still sore. There are traces of dark rings under my eyes, but I think the ice plus some arnica will prevent me from having two black eyes.

I loaded up more coolers and then heard my oldest screaming his head off.  I ran inside to have him being scared because he couldn’t find me.  He had also woken up his brother, so I had two tearful little boys on my hand.  Then Liam was hungry and wanted a bagel with butter. I toasted the bagel and buttered it quickly. I handed it to Liam, and he burst into tears about the butter being melted.  I forgot that my child does not like toasted buttered bagels, but just bagels with un-melted butter.  Lots of yelling occurred, mainly by an impatient mama.  I finally gave in after he crushed the melted buttered bagel and I cursed a couple of times.  He got his un-toasted bagel.

My friend Kristen arrived to watch my kids for the day. We loaded up her coolers and then I hopped in the truck.  Turned the ignition.  Dead.  That’s right, after I had just moved the truck an hour ago and turned it off, no lights left on, the stupid truck was dead.  Now, I’m an electrical engineer, but I honestly hate electricity.  I’ve been electrocuted a couple of times and I really did not look forward to jumping the car.  Plus, I had no idea how I was going to move the truck into a place to jump it with my other vehicle.  I called my husband and he informed me that we actually had a plug-in the wall charger.  He talked me through getting it all connected, while I was in tears no less, because I honestly just miss the man.  He has been working hard out-of-town for about three months, coming home mid-week and I just wanted my husband there to take care of me.  After sparks flew around when I connected the positive lead to the battery and let it charge, I was able to start the vehicle and head to work.

It was a rough morning, but the rest of the day has been going better.  Let’s pray that it continues.

4 thoughts on “Punch Me in the Face

    Julie said:
    December 13, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    I’m so sorry your day was a doozy. Hopefully that arnica will heal, heal, heal.

    I had to jump off a car recently while my husband talked me through it over the phone. I don’t do mechanics. I was a nervous wreck…making a total idiot of myself on the phone. And when the cable sparked, I threw my phone (which broke). My husband thought I was dead. :).

      lahancock responded:
      December 13, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      Thank you for making me laugh Julie!

      Leigh Anne Hancock

    Meg said:
    December 14, 2011 at 8:02 am

    My goodness! I always hate when my husband goes out of town. We always get sick. EVERY TIME! Plus it never fails that something goes wrong or the unexpected happens that throws a wrench in our plans and how the weekwas supposed to go. I hope today is going a lot better. You’re an awesome mom and wife and I’m impressed by all you do!

    thevfamily said:
    December 15, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Those are the kind of days that I hate. I can handle big and official struggle but just the crappy things of life make me go bonkers. Hopefully life settled down a little after that and you will have your man home soon to cuddle with for a day. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

