Waldorf Dolls

Posted on

So I’ve been a bit obsessed with Waldorf dolls lately.  I saw some on this website, and knew that I wanted to have one in the house.  However, the dolls were a little out of my price range at $200.  I was at my local library and saw the book Growing Up: Sew Liberated by Meg McElwee.  It had a Waldorf doll pattern in it that I loved and had very detailed instructions on how to make these dolls. 

   

It took me some time to find a place to purchase the materials for the dolls.  I considered ordering the organic knit for the bodies from the Netherlands because the quality is raved about, but after seeing that it would cost $40 for just shipping, I declined.  I ended up ordering my supplies from Weir Crafts.  The materials came quickly and I bought my wool roving for the insides of the doll, the tubing, skin colored organic knit, and skin colored thread from them.  I ended up having plenty of wool stuffing, which just means, I get to make some more crafts. I ended up with some leftover knit too, so another doll may be in the works. 

In addition to looking at the library book, I also searched other websites for tips and tricks.  Here are those links:

TheBabywearer Forum

Starry Sheep has a wonderful collection of helpful links.

Waldorf Doll Hair:

Bydido

Starry Sheep  and here. I ended up using the Starry Sheep tutorial and I thought it worked very well.

Some things I learned while making these dolls.  One, they are very much worth the money that you pay for them online.  Two, I should have purchased doll needles in the beginning.  They are long and I think that I would have had fewer holes in the dolls heads when making them. 

 I need to tweak my hair making techniques, at least with short-haired dolls.  I don’t really like how you can see the bottom layer sewn down with the short doll hair.  I need to learn how to make clothes because I really suck at my technique.  Hand sewing these dolls were not hard.  I had never done a satin stitch before, but some online tutorials were very helpful and I didn’t really have a problem with it.  Next time, I will make the faces more round.  I didn’t stuff them enough so their cheeks are not as round as I would have liked. 

I spent around $61 on materials for both dolls.  However, I have enough fabric left over for another doll and enough yarn from their hair to knit each doll a full body suit.  I have extra wool stuffing as well and enough thread to make a handful of dolls.  The clothes were made with fabric I had at home.  So I guess the materials for these dolls were probably about $45 if you count the fact that I have materials to still use in the future.  When you factor in the time though, that is where I can understand their online cost.  A friend of mine asked how long I thought it took to make the dolls.  I would estimate probably twenty hours for both dolls.  It was spread out over a month time period with two days that I probably spent a good six hours each day working on them.  For those that make the Bamboletta dolls or others that are similar, if they were getting paid $10/hour,  you can see that they are making some profit on the dolls, but not a lot. 

Here are some photos of their progression.

Doll Heads in the tubing

Frankie is on the left, he is Nick’s doll.  Liam is on the right, that’s right, Liam named his doll Liam.  🙂

One thought on “Waldorf Dolls

    Sprout Mama said:
    January 4, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Great dolls! I left you areply on my blog, then decided to check here if you made them before finishing. I’m ashamed to say mine is STILL not entirely finished. I blame the pregnancy and travel!

Leave a Reply

