Resolutions

Posted on Updated on

I’ve done the New Year’s resolution thing before.  I’m not participating this year though.  I’ve become jaded in my “old” age.  This time of year, people are told through constant radio and t.v. commercials that they need to come up with a New Year’s resolution and it typically involves weight loss.  I’m all for supporting my friends in their weight loss goals, but does anyone find it odd that Americans decide to lose weight in the middle of winter?  I know, I know, we all eat too many sweets and other holiday comfort foods.  However, this is the prime time of year to hide that bit of extra belly fat.  That is what is so great about sweaters and pants!!!! (Smiling here.)

I’m also tired of hearing people talk about resolutions, namely weight loss resolutions that just fizzle out within a month or two. If you want to lose weight, it is a long-term thing.  I have a great group of friends on a private Facebook group and I love following their inspiring food journeys.  They even inspired me to give up sugar for a while and it really did help me lose that extra bit of baby weight. However, these are not the people that I’m talking about.  I am talking about the people that you encounter,  year after year… they pester you to go walk with them at lunch because they’ve started some fitness routine.  They set unrealistic weight loss goals for themselves and then tell you every morning about each ounce they’ve lost through the night.  Ugggh.  I really don’t care. 

I actually think it is cooler to not tell people that you are trying to lose weight, minus those close friends that you need to help keep you accountable.  I have two friends that have done this lately.  It is great to watch people start to take notice of their new shape and the before and after photos are amazing…great job Heather and Emily if you read this. 

To go off on a tangent, I’ve really thought about going to our work gym at lunch time and eat something delicious right in front of them while they work out, but I know this is cruel.  Instead, I just watch Biggest Loser on t.v. and sit on my couch and eat ice cream. 

I think staying in shape is very important.  It sets a good example for your kids, your family and your friends.  I also get a little competitive sometimes and I think, wow, if they can do that, then I can to. 

Another fitness resolution that came up today…while at work.  I jokingly suggested to one of my elder co-workers that he should do a triathlon.  He took me seriously, and kept asking me a ton of questions, which would have been fine, if I actually thought he would follow through with a triathlon.  However, he is one of those people that claims they never have enough time to do something.  There is plenty of time in the day to do what you like, but you may have to give up something  or change your priorities.  I do my best to avoid saying, “I don’t have time,” because, that is a lie.  I sit here at this computer, “wasting time.” I knit, I watch television, and sometimes take leisurely baths. Those are the extras in my day, if I have a desire to do something in particular though, my time gets moved around and those things get accomplished. 

So, if you decided to have a resolution this year, please follow through with it.  I want to see those new YOU photos and I want to hear about your awesome races. 

Next year, I do not want to hear the exact same goal to lose 50 lbs.  Follow Through!

3 thoughts on “Resolutions

    heathbar731 said:
    January 6, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Great post. Ryan and I joined the Y at the beginning of December so I would have my own “personal trainer.” 🙂 It really has been fun going and lifting weights and being sore a couple of days later. That being said, the first time we went after the New Year, I was amazed by the number of cars in the parking lot and the number of people in the gym. I made a comment to Ryan about it, and he told me to give it until Valentine’s Day, and the gym would be much less crowded again. I wish people would stick with their resolutions. We would probably be a more healthy America. Anyhoo, the other thing I hate about certain people’s New Year’s resolutions is the fact that they’re so unrealistic. “I’m going to work out every day this year.” Really? You haven’t taken your rear off of the couch since last January, and you really think you’ll be able to force yourself to go to the gym every day? Ok, I’ll be done now. Sorry to ramble! 🙂

    thevfamily said:
    January 6, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    You crack me up. I wish we lived closer. I would come over and ask you to go walking with me 🙂

      lahancock responded:
      January 6, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      I would love to walk with you…just as long as you never told me it was my fault that you were losing weight in the hopes that I would comment on your un-noticable weight loss. Maybe one day we will live closer to one another, but I know as soon as we moved near you, you would be onto a new adventure. 🙂

Leave a Reply

