Boycotting Valentine’s Day

Posted on

This year, the commercials supporting Valentine’s Day have really been rubbing me the wrong way. The commercials are the same every year…to show love to your partner, you must buy more and more crap: chocolate, flowers, cards, dinner out, diamonds, electronics and automobiles.

My husband and I have already talked about how we will celebrate this Valentine’s Day. I believe we have agreed that we will do very little. We may indulge in purchasing some chocolate after it goes on sale on February 15th, however, my mind keeps going to my friend Julie’s posts about slave labor and chocolate.

If my husband and I must have a specific day to remember to love one another, then something has gone wrong in our marriage. This shouldn’t be a holiday only thing. Every day, we must put forth effort through actions and words, to show that we love each other. With my husband, we have produced two beautiful children, with another on the way. I love him so much, I can’t believe that we’ve been together for so long, because it seems like we just met. He supports me in my passions and I do my best to support him with his. We are a team and even though we have our problems communicating sometimes, we always works it out.

He is an amazing husband. He cooks, he cleans, he plays with our boys for hours on end, he rubs my back and keeps himself in good health. He has kept his youthful figure and still can make my heart flutter in that one pair of jeans. He listens to rants on topics he cares nothing about and will be honest with me when he tells me he really wasn’t listening to a word I was saying. (I appreciate that, because my eyes do glaze over when he talks about golf.)

I think this holiday is ridiculous in its commercialization. We are a nation in debt and constantly worried about how we will work enough to pay for the next item. The advertisers for this holiday want us to keep going into more debt. Buying a bigger diamond, or a new Smartphone, to show our love because nothing says romantic like a cell phone!

 

We will probably celebrate this holiday with a simple, “Happy Valentine’s Day”, said over the phone, with a kiss when I get home from work. It sounds like a perfect way to spend the day.

2 thoughts on “Boycotting Valentine’s Day

    Leah @ The Frugal Twosome said:
    February 8, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Love. I’m baking us a cake. Aaron is getting a UHaul and removing the moving paper from our sun porch. And those are our Valentine’s presents to each other. 🙂

    heathbar731 said:
    February 13, 2012 at 9:54 am

    We’re planning on making dinner at home, because 1) we eat out way too much, 2) who really wants to wait in those lines, and 3) we’re both going to contribute to the meal as part of our gift to each other. Now we just have to figure out the menu. 🙂

    Oh, and you’ll love this – my new kitchen sink is my Valentine’s gift. And I LOVE IT! 🙂 Practical is a wonderful thing to be sometimes…

Leave a Reply

