I gave up Facebook

Posted on Updated on

Well, I finally did it.  I gave up Facebook for Lent.  In years past, I’ve seen others doing the same thing and thought, “I don’t want to.”

Why would I want to give up “talking” to my friends?

I want to stay “connected” to my friends.  I want to keep up with the daily happenings of everyone and read interesting articles that others post.  However the reality is, I sit in front of the computer or my iPad constantly.  I have to check and see if that little red box glows with things I’ve missed.   I check it when I wake up in the morning as I am getting ready for work.  When I get home from work, I say hello to my family and then grab my iPad to see what I have missed throughout the day while at work.  Right before bed, I check and see if anything else had popped up that I might want to read before I go to sleep.  I think about the things I can post to Facebook to get a laugh out of my friends.  I share way too many pictures of my children doing funny things that I’m sure no one really cares about. It is ridiculous. It is too much.  I am a Facebook addict.

Many during this Lenten season are giving something up, but also replacing it with an action.  I want to reconnect to my friends in real life.  I want to see them in person, talk to them, really see their emotions on their faces.  How often will I have memories of chatting on Facebook?  I will remember the times that I went out and had lunch with my friends, or flew across the country to go to a party just because I wanted to.

We are all so busy with our over scheduled lives, but I know I will have more free time if I get of this stupid computer and actually interact with my friends.  However, this would require my friends to do the same and most have no desire to give up the social media in their lives for even a day.  I understand it, and I will have a while before I forget about wanting to update my Facebook status.

I’m not sure how many people will actually see this post, because I typically share to Facebook so that others can read.  However, to share, I would have to log into Facebook, which, I can’t so, for those of you that actually think about reading my blog, I hope you enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

