Stop the F$%^&*^%@! Comments on MY BODY

Posted on

What possesses people to comment on my body shape so much this pregnancy? 

I want YOU to shut your mouth about my body.  I don’t think I even want to hear how awesome I look because I know I’m awesome.  Just please, people, why must you comment on my shape?  I’m pregnant and that doesn’t mean that I’m free game for judgements of how I’m carrying this baby, my breast size or how much weight I have or have not gained.  It is not your place to judge and comment.  Just as it would not be polite for me to tell the sixty year old man in my carpool that his hair looks like it is still in the sixties and that he hasn’t been keeping his shape, it is not polite for him to comment that “You’re not too looking too pregnant and you’ve kept your weight down.”  Grrr.  I really need a sign.  A big gigantic sign that says, if you comment on my body, I get to comment on yours. 

I’m listening to my Hypnobabies pregnancy affirmations.  I know I’m healthy, I know I’m eating good food and I know that my body looks great.  I swear, I’m going to have to have my Bubble of Peace on ALL OF THE TIME at work.

5 thoughts on “Stop the F$%^&*^%@! Comments on MY BODY

    kmiller246 said:
    March 29, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    We talked about focus not long ago. Just like when you think the day sucks, so it does suck. Maybe you’ve been focusing on people’s comments so much that you just keep getting more comments? Try to focus your energy elsewhere and do your best to ignore the comments completely and let them roll off your back- maybe they would stop. Worth a shot? ((ok, now I’m going to duck in case you throw a cyber brick at me!)) 😉 I’m being serious about the focus though. You know I love you. 🙂

      lahancock responded:
      March 29, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      (Not said in anger, but cyber bricks might fly if provoked 🙂 )It’s hard not to notice the fact that people eye me up and down and then proceed to open their mouths and comment on my body. Perhaps I’m causing the issue, by noticing it, but I don’t think that anyone enjoys having people look them up and down and then evaluated. I would think that if the same thing was happening to you on a daily basis, it might get to you. Not to set a war against SAHM vs. WOHM’s, the amount of exposure that a SAHM has to others is limited so the comments that she might receive would be spaced out and possibly tolerated at an easier level. However, everyday but the weekends, I’m out in the public eye with a belly that is growing bigger. The comments are going to be more frequent and in my third pregnancy, I know that I’m getting bigger, and these same people have been commenting on my body now for five years. It needs to stop.

        kmiller246 said:
        March 29, 2012 at 1:28 pm

        I worked full-time while pregnant with Vivian, so I’ve had both the working and at-home experience through pregnancy. No, I don’t think people should remark or judge others because of their looks. But it happens. I don’t think someone should comment on the weight (“too” heavy or “too” thin) if someone is pregnant or not. That’s just my opinion. I think we as a society are too focused on the vanity of bodies instead their fuction or if that body is well-nourished… I won’t digress into thin to be thin at any cost vs. truly healthy… But even when I was young and “hot” — people looking at my body isn’t something I noticed. Actually, I would be surprised at comments sometimes. “You’re so thin! TOO thin!” or comments you had from strangers recently that may not be appropriate (think along the lines of your “you don’t need no slim fast!” comment LOL)… To get to my point – you will never be able to control what others say, or know what the true meaning is behind their words. All you can control is how you react, internally and externally. These comments really shouldn’t matter to you because as you said, you know you’re awesome. You can give a “uh-huh” or nod, then change the subject. Or walk away, as you’ve done before. But in your mind, don’t let it fester. You can’t control your initial feelings, but you can let yourself feel them – then release them. Come up with some positive affirmations to help you if you need. Keep them written down, in your pocket or somewhere else handy. Maybe that will redirect your mind’s attention somewhere else and eventually they will stop bothering you. And hopefully, the comments will lessen in frequency too. P.S. I’m kind of one of the weird mom’s that didn’t mind other’s saying my belly was getting big. I even liked it, depending on how it was said. I was proud of my big belly! haha 🙂 I am acutely aware I’m in the minority on that though.

    kmiller246 said:
    March 29, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    Oh – and I don’t notice if people judge my current size either. I’m sure they do, but I’m pretty much just as oblivious now as I was when I was skinny. But if someone were to come up to me and say something blatantly mean about my appearance – yes, that would bother me. But someone like that isn’t worth getting upset over, because only a douche would say something like that anyway.

      lahancock responded:
      March 29, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      Well then I guess I’m surrounded by douches then.

Leave a Reply

