Uber-confidence with Naysayers

Posted on

It always surprises me who will be unsupportive with my life choices.

I had some doubters when pregnant with Liam that I could go with out drugs.  I knew I could do it and I did.

I was fortunate that I didn’t have any people telling me that I wouldn’t be able to breastfeed.  My mom served as a good role model.

I had some that questioned my husband and my work arrangements, him being the stay-at-home dad and me being the career woman.  They would ask when my husband was going to get a job.  He had a job, the most important one.  Caring for our children and saving us stress and money.  I just drove to work and sat at a desk, bringing home the money and health benefits.

When I took my certification class for Hypnobabies, I had a person tell me that hypnosis was “of the devil.” They thought that was a crazy idea for childbirth preparation and wanted to know nothing about it.

A few people told me when pregnant with my second that I must have the drugs.  Apparently they didn’t know how awesome I was and I didn’t need their advice on “God’s drug….the epidural.”

As we talk with others about homeschooling our children, I get the comments that my children will have socialization problems.  These are the same people who have met and interacted with my children.  I don’t think they are really paying attention to these interactions.  My children are not going to have issues with “socialization.”  They are shy when appropriate and talkative when something interests them.

We are doing our best to lay out plans for me to eventually be our children’s teacher.  However, then I get the comments about, will we be able to afford to survive without my salary?  Or comments, that if things fail, then I can always go back to work.

Do you know how I respond to these situations?  With a ton of confidence that things will go well.  Some of it is false bravado, however, I know it will all work out.  God has provided for us so far, maybe not in the ways that I thought.  I cried often when I had to leave my children to go back to work.  I didn’t want that to be my plan.  I didn’t want to be back at work without them.  I wanted to be at home.  I hated the negativity that came with telling people that I was planning a natural birth.  Fortunately, with two natural births behind me, with one an accidental unassisted birth, my confidence level grew and I can easily tell people, “I can handle it.”

The naysayers come out when they have a problem or perceive a problem with me.  It isn’t my issue.  If I am over-confident, these comments will roll off my back and I will go forth and show that things will be okay for me and my family.  I can’t worry what others think of my family’s decisions.  Anyone else have naysayers in their lives?  Were they friends or family, or both?

 

 

One thought on “Uber-confidence with Naysayers

    Ashlee P said:
    April 23, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    I had one or two naysayers. My mom swore I would quit cloth diapering after a month. She was waaay wrong; my 3rd kid just graduated into panties from the same cloth diapers her 2 siblings wore. I still sometimes get flack about homeschooling, but not often. Most of the time I get compliments about how polite and sweet my homeschooled kids are. Once while grocery shopping late in the afternoon, an old man stopped and smiled at my kids, and said “You’re homeschoolers, aren’t you?” I told him yes, and asked how he knew. He said, still smiling, “You can just tell. You’re doing it right.” I almost cried right then and there.

    You are doing it right, Leigh Anne. 🙂 You are definitely awesome and your ‘unsocialized’ kids can hang out with mine any day.

Leave a Reply

