The Academy of Awesomeness

Posted on Updated on

I crafted the board below to start brainstorming how we might want to proceed with our first year of homeschooling. We aren’t going to officially enroll Liam in a homeschool umbrella school this year because he will be turning five at the end of October. However, I do want us to get into practice of doing something. My husband hasn’t seen this board, so I have left space so we can add things or change things if he wants Liam to learn something else. I crossed out the Narnia series because Liam says he doesn’t want me to read it to him, we will find something else he likes, I’m sure.

We’ve done three science experiments today. He and I are at the kitchen table while the other two are asleep. He is experimenting more with coffee, water, vinegar and baking soda. We also did an experiment where we put a bar of ivory soap in the microwave and watched it grow from the inside out. We talked about how microwaves cook things from the inside. I think we are going to need to buy stock in baking soda and vinegar. He loves this stuff as does his brother.

Our homeschool name for now is The Hancock Academy of Awesomeness. I think it sounds pretty cool. Here is the board I made as a visual reminder of what we want to work on. Maybe some of you have other suggestions on what we could do this year. We will have to keep it as stress free as possible because it looks like we will be selling our house and moving to another town. I’m excited about the new adventure we are about to embark on but will miss all of my local friends.The other cool thing, I will be retiring from my job on Friday, at least that is the plan if I can get all of the paperwork completed. Retiring at 31, pretty awesome.

20120815-151517.jpg

Leave a Reply

