A different kind of homeschooling

Posted on

I’m new to homeschooling.  Honestly, I don’t really have a set plan of what to do.  I have a lot of friends that are homeschooling young children and a few that are schooling teenagers. I don’t have a plan for everyday and I ask Liam and Nick what they want to learn. So far, learning doesn’t happen in just one set time period.  I could “do school,” during 8-12 everyday, but we don’t.  Sometimes, with a new baby, I need to lay down for a little while and other times, I really don’t want to recreate the same thing that I had in elementary school.  I did enjoy my time in school, but if I wanted my boys to have the same experience, then I would send them to public school.  Right now, they are building ramps with books, luggage, pillows and other toys.  Some might think, well, that is just normal playing!  You may be thinking that I’m just letting my kids play all day and well, honestly, I am.  They are still learning.  They are learning geometry, physics and hand-eye coordination.

 

 

Earlier today, they went outside and collected leaves to make into a little nature book.  We read about a man named Crinkleroot in a story last night that did the same thing.  They wanted to do it, so we recreated the same thing.

Yesterday, they built lakes, rivers and dams with some mud, water and logs.  I think they were learning then too.

We sang songs this morning for our music time.  These songs may help them later when they are learning to read.  It was fun, the boys were dancing and I enjoyed watching them smile.

So right now, I’m winging it.  Things will change and evolve as we go along.  I’m just trying to enjoy my time with them.

7 thoughts on “A different kind of homeschooling

    Julie said:
    September 12, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    Yes, yes! Play is their learning medium at this stage (and for years longer).

    lahancock responded:
    September 12, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    Thank you Julie. I appreciate the encouragement.

    Katherine said:
    September 12, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    It sounds like you’re practicing unschooling. We do some of this. The other day we had a lesson on decay. We found a dead squirrel on our morning walk.

    Louise said:
    September 12, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    You should get some of that photo-sensitive paper to do your leaf patterns on. Way cool!

    Laura said:
    September 12, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    Sounds like so much fun Leigh Anne! That is how kids learn!! Play is their work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

