Small home vs. larger home

Posted on Updated on

Our home is around 2000 square feet. We have plenty of room and too much stuff. We are working on packing up our home and doing minor repairs to get it ready to sell. My husband stays in my father’s 800 square foot duplex during the week, when he is working in Nashville.

Last week, we stayed there, with our three boys and I loved it. Why did I love it? Everything was in close proximity. It was easy to put stuff away because you only had to take a few steps. We also didn’t have a lot of our stuff with us. We had a weeks worth of clothes for all five of us in one small closet. I never used the dishwasher because they don’t have many dishes there, so I would hand wash right after we ate and let them dry on the counter. The laundry closet was five steps away from our bedroom. It was so much easier to keep clean too. If you left anything out, it was very noticeable and it made me want to pick it up right away.

As we start to look at new homes, I’m still torn on what to find. I would love to find a smaller, maybe 1200 square foot home with a couple of acres. However, is that the right decision? Would we regret not having the space in the teenage years with our kids? My husband thinks that the boys will need their own rooms, especially when they get to puberty. I think they could share a room.

What are your thoughts and opinions on this?

3 thoughts on “Small home vs. larger home

    Thomas said:
    November 6, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Can the boys survive by sharing a room? I think so. However, a huge part of identity formation in adolescence is the “space” to be able to work put who they will be, and a good “place” do begin that work in managing a room. No doubt, individual rooms are very much a western-first-world practice, but there are pros and cons with both approaches.

      lahancock responded:
      November 6, 2012 at 11:53 am

      I just think about how in college, I had to learn how to share a room with someone else. That was really hard. If they do share a room, I do want them to have some space in another part of the house to be on their own.

    thevfamily said:
    November 8, 2012 at 9:08 am

    Buy small now, if that is what you feel drawn to at this time. The boys can certainly share rooms, and if worse comes to worse and you feel the need to have them separate space, you can always build onto the home an added bedroom. At that point in time, you will be in a different place financially even, so that may be a true possibility. Our boys do not currently share but we do see them doing so in the future, and I think that it sounds exciting, and so does Thomas. We do have pretty silent and solid bed time routines, so I envision a bunch of issues with room sharing in that aspect but you guys don’t have that, so share away! 🙂

Leave a Reply

