Craft Therapy

Posted on Updated on

Some of you wonder how I manage to do as many craft projects as I do. I will let you in on a little secret. The amount of crafting I do is directly proportional to my stress level. The more stressed I get, more often than not, I turn to sewing or knitting as my release. When I’m doing craft projects it is one of the few times that my mind has a chance to rest. I just focus on what I’m doing and don’t allow the demons in my head to take over.

Current stressors:

Having a house on the market and trying not to take the feedback personally.

Losing a friend… Remember my unfriending post, the one that I apparently lashed out in according to the person that unfriended me. Yeah, I’m done with that relationship. You haven’t seen lashing out lady, if you think my expressing feelings of being sad as lashing out, then you really need to work on reading tone and the actual words in a message. A friendship should be 50/50. Remember you’re equally part of the problem, we both are at fault.

Traveling around for the last month so that our house would stay show ready. Packing and unpacking the car gets old pretty fast. Being a guest in someone else’s home is hard and you never feel like you can just be yourself.

I tried giving up yelling for Lent. I’ve failed miserably. I’m trying again but I’ve already failed again today.

Dealing with a father that often still talks to you like a 10 year. Yeah, I’m 32. I really just need to find peace that he is not going to change his ways.

Worrying about health and financial issues for friends. I often put myself in their place and imagine what they are going through. I’ve got to stop that but at least my craft projects have been exceptional lately.

I just want to be at home, but I don’t have a home right now. I just want to run away, but then I would miss the loudness of my kids. I already miss my husband, as I normally only get about 48 hours a week with him. We got our first date night in ten months last night and found a great Thai restaurant, so at least that was a plus.

So remember, when you see my many craft projects, remember that it is usually an escape for me. I want to get back to my knitting and sewing but normal life is about to take over again.

20130324-125132.jpg

20130324-125147.jpg

20130324-125229.jpg

One thought on “Craft Therapy

    Nicole said:
    March 28, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    Awww… (((hugs))). You really do produce lovely things under stress!

    TWO WEEKS!!!

Leave a Reply

