New plan…

Posted on

For an entire year, I had this photo as my Facebook cover photo….

20131231-114404.jpg
I saw this image and I thought, wow, this is perfect and funny.

I don’t think I have the ability to grade if I was more awesome than last year. I will leave that up to my friends.  This year has been fraught with struggles, triumphs and lots of change.

Struggles:

  • Friendships that went bad.
  • Selling Our Home
  • Leaving our Chattanooga friends
  • Learning to live with my new body post baby #3
  • Moving into a home more than half the size of our previous home
  • Having to restart in the birth community in Nashville…connecting to others and becoming a known name in the childbirth circles
  • Living on a new budget
  • Homeschooling
  • Balancing between my need for solitude and my children’s need for me

Triumphs:

  • Selling our home in three months
  • Getting a new mode of  transportation…the Yuba Mundo cargo bike
  • Getting to know our new city
  • Making friends quickly in the Nashville area and working on some deeper relationships with some of those ladies…trusting other women can be hard but very rewarding when you find a friend that is really awesome.
  • Getting to play my cello again in an orchestra
  • Seeing my children learning new things
  • Becoming closer to my husband
  • Accepting Jesus into my life…even though I still have no idea what that means and I don’t think I have the feeling inside that others do but trying to learn more
  • Having some pretty amazing friends that lifted me up when I needed it the most
  • Building a pretty awesome website and joining up with some pretty great ladies in the hopes that we can continue to help the birth community in Nashville
  • Writing down a new goal list on my 33rd birthday (although, I’m already seeing some of those goals changing)

So, I feel like a need a new mantra for this year.  I saw a quote supposedly by Picasso the other day that resonated with me.  Maybe it is because people kept thanking me at church for sharing my “gift” after playing my cello.  I never viewed it as me sharing, more of a selfish endeavor on my part because I really just wanted to play.  However the quote is this: “The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.”

I’m hoping this year, I can help others more while still taking enough time to rejuvenate myself.  I know I can not give too much, otherwise I will crash and  burn.  However, if I can give little gifts of myself, maybe I will be a little more “awesome” in 2014.

20131231-114605.jpg

3 thoughts on “New plan…

    Thomas Vertrees (@ThomasVertrees) said:
    December 31, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    Change is always difficult, but yet always valuable. Congrats on surviving and thriving in 2013. GL on your new goal list!

    Teresa Frogge said:
    December 31, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    You always have been, and always will be AWESOME!

      lahancock responded:
      December 31, 2013 at 1:07 pm

      Thanks mom. I come from greatness.

Leave a Reply

