Indebted and Sewn

Posted on

Nearly two years ago, I was 36 weeks and 5 days pregnant with Grant and realized that he had decided to come a bit early. Of course, the timing would be perfect in the fact that my husband was in Nashville working and my hired midwife was across the country in California on a planned vacation. I knew when I hired my midwife that she would be in California at this time, and never anticipated going early. 

Well, when things started up, I called my friend Michelle, a midwife. I thought she was my back up midwife, but she wasn’t. You can read about all that here. Michelle talked to me in the wee hours of the morning as my doula friend Amy came over to wait with me. I am forever indebted to Michelle (and Amy for keeping me calm as I waited for my husband) for those handful of phone conversations as my body decided that it was in fact time for Grant to come. Michelle also made sure that my true backup, Debi, understood what I needed in birth. I was so pleased with my treatment during Grant’s birth by both of these midwives and the apprentice midwife, Rachael. So, with all of that lead up story, Michelle has been a great friend over the years. She has also made me slightly more fashionable by gifting me some of her old clothes. The only pair of jeans that fits me came from her. 

Michelle asked me to make her a carrier cover over a year ago I never got to it during the move. She saw this Northern Lights Girasol wrap and asked if I would be willing to make this for her. I was excited and a little nervous to screw up a wrap, but it turned out pretty awesome. It isn’t perfect, but none of my stuff is. It is safe though. Each strap has been box stitched internally and then a decorative stitch has been made on the outside. I pin tucked the hood and did my best to match the color stripes on the carrier. I had a few scraps left over and I made her a keychain fob to go with it. I hope it is comfortable for her. Grant loved it and asked to be put up into it before I even had all the loose strings snipped from it. ImageImageImageImageImageImagedeb

One thought on “Indebted and Sewn

    thevfamily said:
    May 17, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    Beautiful job!

Leave a Reply

