Counting Blessings

Posted on

As I get closer to the end of this pregnancy, I am reminded everyday of how thankful I am for my husband. He has worked hard these past 2.5 years to give me the ability to stay home with the kids. The trade-off unfortunately has been less time with him and for quite a while I felt very guilty about this. I felt like I traded time with my husband for more time with my kids. The great part about my husband, when he is home, he is so present with the kids. He plays video games with them, reads them books, gets on the floor to wrestle with them and is just very attentive. The other great part, he has reminded me to take needed breaks. If he sees that I am frazzled after a day with the kids, he will often ask if I would like to take some time to myself. I am so thankful to be married to him.

I look back at my previous pregnancy and I have no idea how I got through that pregnancy. I was so stressed. Working full-time, my husband working half the week 3 hours away and taking care of two children. Transporting them each morning and evening to a sitter was so hard. Then sitting all day in a cubicle that caused my belly to stay in a near constant Braxton Hicks contraction. I remember laying underneath my cubicle desk at lunch time to try and get my ever so tight belly to just relax. Walking to and from my car was hard and I dealt with sciatic nerve issues, other nether region ailments and was so unsure of whether I would get to quit my job after the baby came. Then, things fell into place. Baby came early, I had some postpartum healing issues that could have been very costly if I had chosen surgery, I was an emotional wreck and we kept writing down a budget and realized that the money just wasn’t really there despite my optimism that it had to come together. It JUST HAD TO. Despite the shaky finances, I quit my job. And the blessings abounded.

We managed to pay our mortgage, the high gas bills for my husband to drive back and forth to Nashville, my father let my husband stay rent free in the duplex that we now have purchased, we had food on the table and we had friends that were there for me when I needed them as we prepped our house for sale. We made the leap and sold our house, moving into one side of the duplex with my dad still living here (he moved out shortly thereafter). My brother, SIL and FIL stored our excess furniture for us at their homes as we decided what we wanted to do next. We discovered that we liked the town we had moved to and found a church home. I’ve never had a desire to repeatedly attend the same church, but these people are becoming a second family. My children say their night-time prayers and say thanks for their family, their friends and their church family. We have made friends here that have went above and beyond for us already. My long distance friends have wielded their support through these transitions, reminding me that we are blessed.

As I near the end of this pregnancy, I’m in awe of what we have been given. This fourth baby was a bit of a surprise and I’m still in disbelief many days that there is an actual baby in my belly. I haven’t blogged about this pregnancy as much as I’ve felt I needed more privacy for whatever reason. Not wanting to repeat the same things that have already been spoken in previous pregnancies. However, this blog is my way to look back at my life. I started it around Liam’s first birthday and have kept it going for 6 plus years. I’m so thankful that I have it to look back on as I don’t think I would have kept a hand written record for as long. My typing skills (thank you Fairbanks, Alaska for teaching my to type in the 4th and 5th grades) are far faster than my handwriting skills.

I’m thankful that we have a home here. Our “du-House” as the kids are calling it now is just perfect for us and our growing family. I’m thankful for my friends, near and far. I’m thankful for my family, especially my husband.

DSC_0042DSC_0041

Leave a Reply

