Baby Hancock Has Arrived

Posted on Updated on

Well, I went to work this morning as you all may have seen, I dreaded having to show my face after not going to work last Thursday and Friday.  I got there at 7am.  I was feeling pretty good when I got there, but kept my headphones on so that I wouldn’t have to talk to anyone.  I answered a few e-mails.  I was feeling some pressure waves, but not really any different from what I had been feeling.  I went down and saw my friend Heather’s husband to check on her status (she is 39+ weeks).   I was having waves while talking to different people, but was able to talk through them without anyone noticing.  Around 8:30, I decided to start timing them.  They weren’t quite regular, some every 5 minutes, about 45 seconds long, the next one was ten minutes later, then the next three were 2-3 minutes apart and lasting about 30-45 seconds. I called my midwife and told her that something was happening, but wasn’t sure what.  I told her I would keep her posted.

I went to the restroom and had to breath through a pressure wave.  I told myself that I was stupid for being at work, especially since the waves were radiating around my back.  I told my boss that I was going to go home. I told our secretary too, she asked how the waves felt.  I told her all around my back through the front.  I left at 9 am. I had to stop at the Chattanoogan Hotel to go to the bathroom.  I had to breath through one there.  I got to the parking lot, had another one that I had to stop for, but then kept walking to the car.  On the ride home I called my mom and told her that I was headed home.  I wasn’t sure what was going on, but decided to head home.  She said she would call in an hour to see how I was doing.  I called Damon on the way home too.  I was having waves about every 4-5 minutes on the drive home.  When I got to my exit, I told Damon that I wasn’t sure my mom was going to make it in time and could he call her and draw up a bath.  Actually, I called him about ten minutes before that and asked for the bath.  I called him when I got to the exit to update him that they were pretty frequent.  By the time I got home, I had six waves.  I got home at 9:49 am.  I jumped right into the bathtub.  I had my iPod with me and started listening to my Hypnobabies Easy First Stage.  I didn’t stay in the tub long.

I went upstairs, I didn’t have a towel downstairs so I was freezing. I got into some comfy clothes and a big fuzzy robe.  I went and said hello to Liam.  He was watching Dinosaur Train.  I didn’t stay upstairs long.  I decided to go down the the birth room.  I was having to vocalize and couldn’t seem to get into the hypnotic state that I has hoping for.  I got on all hours on the twin bed with the birth ball and rocked during a wave.  Damon would come down during each wave and put counterpressure on my hips.  Damon was fantastic.  He got me speakers so that I could play the iPod out loud, he ran and got a crockpot for hot towels (we never ended up using it or even getting any water in the crockpot).  I asked him to start filling up the kiddie pool birth tub.  I got in, almost immediately while it was filling up.  The waves were coming on very quickly.  Damon would go take care of something and he would hear me moaning for him and he would come back down.  I said that the hypnosis wasn’t working as well as I hoped.  He said I was doing great.  I reminded him of the relax and peace and release cues.  He would do them and then do the counter pressure on my lower back.

Things were moving very quickly.  Damon was upstairs and the tub was barely even half full when the water went cold.  I yelled for him to come turn it off.  The waves were very strong and then I started to fill pushy.  I could feel my cervix opening with each wave.  I told him I was scared and that I wish they would get here.  My midwife was on her way as well as my friend Kristen to watch Liam. I told Damon that Carolyn said she was going to hop in the shower and be on her way, that was at 10am or so when I spoke with her.  I told him that I felt like I needed to push and Damon told me that if I needed to push, to do so.  I was expecting to see fear in his eyes when I said that.  He was so calm to me.  I was surprised.  I started to push, I couldn’t stop it.  I was on my knees in the tub, sitting somewhat upright.  I reached down and I felt the sac starting to come out.  I told him, the baby is coming.  I had to try and not bear down, it was so hard not too. The baby was right there.  I pushed again and I felt the baby’s head slip out, then the shoulders and then there the baby was.  Still in the amniotic sac, also known as born in the caul.

I pulled the sac from the baby’s face.  I looked between the legs, “It’s a boy.” “Ohh my gosh, we just had a baby.”  Damon had tears in his eyes, I was in disbelief.  I asked what time it was.  It was 10:49 am. My midwife was 4-5 miles away, when Damon called her minutes later.  Kristen was in Hixson.  We put a towel around him.  I got out of the tub and got onto the bed.  I asked Damon if it was okay if named him Nicholas.  He said yes.

I’m just glad I didn’t stop at Hobby Lobby like I wanted to.

Nicholas Damon Hancock arrived at 10:49 am.  He weighed 8lbs 14 oz, 2 oz more than his big brother.  He is 20″ long, with a head circumference of 14.5 inches and chest circumference of 14 3/4 inches.  He began nursing very soon after birth and is doing great.  I didn’t plan to have him that fast and without my support team.  I’m still in shock that he came so quickly.  I’m resting now in the sewing room/guest bedroom.  My friend Kristen is going to bring us dinner.

I’m in awe of my body and my husband in how calm and collected he was during the very fast birth.  I’m also very thankful to PBS and their children’s programming.  Liam was watching Dinosaur Train and Sesame Street during the birth.

Getting weighed

21 thoughts on “Baby Hancock Has Arrived

    Inexplicable Ways said:
    April 19, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Wow, wow, and WOW! I can’t believe you were at work that same morning!

    You caught a baby. In the caul! I’m so proud of you, Mama!

    Enjoy that sweet bundle!

      lahancock responded:
      April 19, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      Second baby born in the caul too.

        Julie said:
        April 20, 2010 at 1:44 pm

        Strong, intact membranes right? 😉

      kathy o'brien said:
      April 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      Dear Leigh Anne,
      How exciting your birth was! How fabulous to hear such calm as your baby and body moved straight into birth! How wonderful you could sense and move naturally with each need you had and how dear and marvelous is your Husband!
      You are a purely powerful Woman and Mother-great choices, great listening, great calm, great catch! Thank you so much for this:)!

    Megan Taylor said:
    April 19, 2010 at 9:38 pm

    Man…I hope my delivery is that quick! What a wonderful story. Can’t wait to meet your precious little boy in person!

    thevfamily said:
    April 20, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Thomas would have certainly fainted. Way to go Damon!

    So glad you and baby are well! Enjoy being a momma to two beautiful boys :O)

    Carole Thorpe said:
    April 20, 2010 at 11:02 am

    Congratulations Hancock family!

    “Not believing” being in your birthing time is pretty incredible isn’t it? Well done both of you. Damon for staying calm, and Leigh Anne for just doing what your body and your baby needed you to do! Lovely birth, and thanks for sharing your story with all of us so soon.

    Enjoy all of your boys on your babymoon Leigh Anne,

    Carole Thorpe

    enjoybirth said:
    April 20, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Wow, that is wonderful. SOOOO fast and you both stayed so calm. What a great birth partner, encouraging you to follow your body!

    Congratulations, he is beautiful. 🙂

    Lisa said:
    April 20, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Yea:-) I love this birth story.

    Marie Ivey said:
    April 20, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    Oh Leigh Anne…he is beautiful! Congratulations to all of you! What a beautiful blessing!
    Hugs,
    Marie

    Alicia Anderson said:
    April 21, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Congrats!!! What an amazing birth story. Way to go Damon… a calm husband really helps things stay grounded. In the caul too?! So curious about how that affected the intensity of the waves. Your an amazing mama and i’m so happy for your whole family. Alicia

      lahancock responded:
      April 21, 2010 at 6:00 pm

      Calm husbands really help a lot. I don’t know any different on the intensity of the waves because both Liam and Nicholas were born in the caul. I guess it is just how I birth babies. If the next one comes out differently, then I will let you know. Alicia, knowing that you went two weeks over kept me calmer in those last few days because I knew I couldn’t complain too much if you did it. I need to calculate my odds for having two kids in the caul, it has to be pretty small.

    Sherry Whyte said:
    April 23, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Loved reading your story. What a wonderful birth! It only seems like yesterday that we were going through the Hypnobabies training together. Enjoy your precious family! Conrats!
    Sherry

    Tina Church said:
    April 24, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Congratulations, Damon & Leigh Anne! This is a beautiful birth story. Nicholas is precious! Big brothers are the best- we’re sure Liam is so happy! Your family is so blessed!

    Greg & Tina Church
    friends of Damon

    amber said:
    April 27, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    great story! so glad everyone is doing well. thanks for sharing!

    Jada Za chary said:
    April 29, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Congratulations to a beautiful new family of four! Tell Damon that Derek informed that I was not allowed to do that if we have any more little ones! I am very impressed. With Johannah’s birth, I labored at home but delivered at the hospital. Derek was a great coach and I made use of our big tub and walking,too. I think the 2nd baby tends to come faster. Also, I learned a lot from our first birth. I saw things I would and would not do for the 2nd.

    Leigh Anne, I would love to birth at home, but I haven’t convinced Derek yet! Need some words of wisdom. What an amazing birth story and what a blessing!

      lahancock responded:
      April 30, 2010 at 4:02 am

      Jada, just start doing some research on home birth and the safety of it. You would be surprised at the literature that is out there. Husband’s area probably going to be wary of this unless they have family members that have home birthed. Pregnancy is normally out of most men’s comfort zone and so is the birth.

    crunchymama80 said:
    June 4, 2010 at 5:50 pm

    What a wonderful story. Mine is quite similar (I was driving during labor and the baby was born 75 minutes from the first contraction at home, unassisted). I just didn’t have my husband there with me!

    Mandy Schutt said:
    June 6, 2010 at 12:12 am

    WOW! Amazing! I love that your little man was born en caul- he must be a prophet!(:
    And what a looker! He is perfection. What a proud big brother as well- love the foot photo! Thanks for sharing your beautiful birth with us and letting other moms know how wonderful a Hypnobabies birth can be! Congratulations Mama!!!

    […] every night to the hypnosis tracks until my second son was born.  (You can read his birth story here.) Even though I was a new Hypnobabies instructor at the time, I didn’t know consciously what […]

    Rebozo and Dad Workshop | State of Birthing said:
    November 11, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    […] and letting birth be as intervention free as possible.  That really resonated with me because of my second son’s birth and then my third son’s birth.  I had a blast at the workshop and hopefully you can find a […]

Leave a comment